Posted by: Vasco | April 20, 2012

Viewings

Alexander Revisited: The Final Cut
Oliver Stone, 2004

I’m a fan and I’m not ashamed to admit it!
And “now” with its less linear but more cohesive structure, Stone’s film is finally the grandiose achievement I always hoped for.
Sure, its distinctive flaws are still present, most of the performances are terrible and Jolie’s accent is even more ludicrous, but it’s well-known that I never cared much about such things in my cinema.

More important, these minor issues are eclipsed by Stone’s ferocious mise-en-scène and spatial sense, and Rodrigo Prieto’s striking cinematography, immersed in a booming sonic environment.

Oliver Stone: I like him and I’m not ashamed to admit it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

